IndyLaw Net is an independent weblog written and managed by students and alumni of the Indiana University School of Law in Indianapolis, serving the IU Law-Indy community.

We welcome and encourage comments... Please check out ILN's commenting policy

Editor-in-chief, webmaster:
Lucas Sayre

Associate editors:
Karl Born

Karl Born
Brian Deiwert
Lucas Sayre
Kelly Scanlan
Nathan Van Sell


IU-Indy Law
Prof. Jeff Cooper
Daily Contentions
In the Agora
Commentary Track
Justin Gifford
Jelly Beans & Corduroy
Joe Delamater
Just Playin'
Obiter Dictum
Ryan Strup
The Sleepy Sage
Waiting for the Punchline
Myron's Mind
TV Law

Other Law Students
The Rattler
Ambivalent Imbroglio
John Branch
Phil Carter
De Novo
Paul Gutman
Kathryn Janeway
Jewish Buddha
The Kitchen Cabinet
Law Dork
letters from babylon
Letters of Marque
Mixtape Marathon
Notes from the Underground
Andrew Raff
Sua Sponte
Three Years of Hell
Unlearned Hand
Waddling Thunder

Legal Academics
Jack Balkin
Jeff Cooper
Rick Hasen
Lawrence Lessig
Eric Muller
Glenn Reynolds
D. Gordon Smith
Lawrence Solum
Peter Tillers
The Volokh Conspiracy
David Wagner
Tung Yin
White Collar Crime prof blog

Other Academic-types
Andrew R. Cline
Crooked Timber
Brad DeLong
Daniel W. Drezner
Joseph Duemer
Amitai Etzioni
Rebecca Goetz
Kieran Healy
Mark A. R. Kleiman
Brett Marston
History News Network
Michael Tinkler

Other Lawblogs
Program for Judicial Awareness
Howard J. Bashman
Stuart Buck
Janell Grenier
Sam Heldman
Tech Law Advisor
Denise Howell
Ken Lammers
Legal Reader
Math Class for Poets
Nathan Newman
Statutory Construction Zone
Indiana Law Blog
Timothy Sandefur
Fritz Schranck
Stop the Bleating
Pejman Yousefzadeh

Legal News
The Jurist
CNN - Law

Sapere aude - dare to be wise
Friday, April 21, 2006
Dean search committee selected
Posted 1:45 PM by Luke
Susanah Mead, IU-Indy's interim dean, has informed the students that Chancellor Bantz has selected the members of the Dean Search Committee, and that he hopes that it will have "final candidates" selected by the end of next semester.

The committee's members are:

- Roger Schmenner, Executive Associate Dean of the Kelley School of Business (Chair)
- Brent Dickson, Justice of the Indiana Supreme Court and 1968 graduate of the law school
- Lacy Johnson, Partner at Ice Miller and 1981 graduate of the law school
- Angela Sanchez, Current student
- Andy Klein, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor
- Paul Cox, Professor
- Dan Cole, Professor
- Fran Hardy, Professor
- Maria Lopez, Professor


I only have a few matters to add:

1. Dean Mead has explained to the Dean's Student Advisory Board the reason for the delay in selecting a committee: the law school and IUPUI were reluctant to conduct a dean search so soon after conducting one a few years ago for Dean Anthony Tarr.

2. The reason I didn't post earlier on the dean search is that I was given no access or information that could have shed any light on the topic. I am working to rectify the situation to gain greater access to pertinent information. I'll elaborate on my efforts to this regard, as progress is made.

3. Any contention that our law school is academically underneath IU and therefore should not be referred to as "the IUPUI School of Law" or similar name is somewhat hollow considering some of the recent decisions made in regards to the law school. IUPUI's Chancellor Bantz and its Vice Chancellor Plater have guided the rules concerning our tenure policy, ethics hearings, and now the dean search.

As seen in the
National Jurist
and on

Indianapolis Help Wanted

August 2003
September 2003
October 2003
November 2003
December 2003
January 2004
February 2004
March 2004
April 2004
May 2004
June 2004
July 2004
August 2004
September 2004
October 2004
November 2004
December 2004
January 2005
February 2005
March 2005
April 2005
May 2005
June 2005
July 2005
August 2005
September 2005
October 2005
November 2005
December 2005
January 2006
February 2006
March 2006
April 2006
May 2006
June 2006
July 2006
August 2006
September 2006
November 2006
December 2006
January 2007
February 2007
April 2007
May 2007
March 2010

Weblog Commenting by